About SiliconBeat

SiliconBeat is the official technology blog of the San Jose Mercury News.
George Avalos
George Avalos is a business reporter for the Bay Area News Group. He can be reached at gavalos@bayareanewsgroup.com.
Karen Casto
Karen Casto is an assistant business editor with an interest in all things Silicon Valley. She is also the editor of Siliconbeat.com
Louis Hansen
Louis Hansen covers green energy for the Mercury News.
Levi Sumagaysay
Levi Sumagaysay is editor of the combined SiliconBeat and Good Morning Silicon Valley. She also helps take care of SiliconValley.com, the Mercury News tech website. Email: lsumagaysay@bayareanewsgroup.com
Mike Murphy
Mike Murphy is a web producer at the Mercury News, and also writes for Good Morning Silicon Valley and 60-Second Business Break. He can be reached at mmurphy@bayareanewsgroup.com.
Michelle Quinn
Michelle Quinn is a Business Columnist at the San Jose Mercury News. Prior to her current role, she was the Silicon Valley correspondent at Politico covering tech policy and politics. She has also covered the tech industry at the Los Angeles Times and the San Francisco Chronicle. She was a blogger for the New York Times. She can be reached at mquinn@mercurynews.com or (510) 394-4196
Pete Carey
Pete Carey covers tech and things that need investigating. He can be reached at pcarey@mercurynews.com.
Patrick May
With more than 30 years on the front line of daily American journalism, I'm currently a Staff Writer at the San Jose Mercury News, covering start-ups, smackdowns and people-centric business stories from Silicon Valley, and have been featured on the "Into Tomorrow" radio show. You can reach me at 408-920-5689 or at pmay@mercurynews.com
Queenie Wong
Queenie Wong is a technology reporter covering social media companies including Facebook, Twitter and LinkedIn. She can be reached at qwong@mercurynews.com.
Troy Wolverton
Troy writes the Tech Files column as the Personal Technology Columnist at the San Jose Mercury News. He also covers the digital media, mobile and video game industries and writes occasionally about Apple, chips, social networking and other aspects of technology. Previously, Troy covered Apple and the consumer electronics industry. Prior to joining the Mercury News, Troy reported on technology, business and financial issues for TheStreet.com and CNET News.com. He can be reached at twolverton@mercurynews.com.
Menu Title