California lawmakers form tech caucus

California lawmakers have formed their first “tech caucus” to create policies designed to foster innovation in the state.

Assemblymembers Evan Low, D-Campbell and Ian Calderon, D-Whittier, on Tuesday announced they were launching the California Legislative Technology and Innovation Caucus, a bipartisan and bicameral group made up of members of the state Senate and Assembly. Calderon, who will lead the caucus with Low, was the author of a bill supported by the tech industry that would govern what happens to online accounts after a person dies. That bill was recently put off until the next legislative session.

The 11 founding members mostly hail from the tech industry hubs of Silicon Valley and Los Angeles County, with one from the Central Valley. All but two are Democrats. Their first caucus meeting will occur in January. They are:

(Co-Chair) Assemblymember Evan Low (D-Silicon Valley)
(Co-Chair) Assemblymember Ian Calderon (D-Whittier)
Senator Ben Allen – (D-Santa Monica)
Assemblymember Autumn Burke – (D-Inglewood)
Senator Jim Beall – (D-San Jose)
Senator Anthony Canella – (R-Ceres)
Assemblymember Ling Ling Chang (R-Diamond Bar)
Assemblymember Matt Dababneh – (D-Los Angeles)
Assemblymember Kevin Mullin – (D-San Mateo)
Senator Ricardo Lara – (D-Bell Gardens)
Assemblymember Phil Ting – (D-San Francisco)


Share this Post